Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Community Search

4/19/2018 » 4/21/2018
Languages, Literatures, and Cultures Conference in Kentucky

4/20/2018 » 4/21/2018
NWALL/SWALLT 2018 Joint Conference

Language Teachers Symposium: Planning with the End in Mind

Global Language and Culture Conference 2018

2016 Candidates for Election

Get to Know the Candidates!

The following members of the AATSP are candidates for the 2016 AATSP Election. Please click on the candidate names to view more details of their background and their candidate statement.

Balloting will end at 11:59 PM Eastern Time on Sunday, October 30, 2016. Regular, joint, life, and emeritus members of the AATSP in good standing are eligible to vote.



President Elect


Domnita Dumitrescu; California State University, Los Angeles; Los Angeles, CA

Bill VanPatten; Michigan State University; East Lansing, MI



College / University Representatives


John Maddox; University of Alabama at Birmingham; Birmingham, AL

Paul Mandell; University of Houston, Downtown; Houston, TX



Secondary (9-12) Representatives


Sheila Cockey; Retired; King George, VA
Cynthia Flax; Retired; Clifton Park, NY



Community College Representatives


Irma Bjerre; Clackamas Community College; Oregon City, OR

Susanna Williams; Macomb County Community College; Warren, MI





AATSP Policy Statement Regarding Campaigning
The following policy regarding campaigning for Executive Council positions was approved by the AATSP Executive Council at its meeting of April 13-14, 2007 and updated by the Executive Council at its meeting of February 1, 2010.

Publicity regarding candidates for AATSP elections will be posted appropriately and solely by the AATSP Headquarters and its chapters.Candidates for the Executive Council agree to abide by this policy prior to being placed on the AATSP ballot. The Executive Council reserves the right to remove candidates from the ballot when this policy is not followed.